Cobrartp site logo
Innovate, AEM UEGO

ExTuner: AFR + EGT meter. Exhaust gas tuning

We did not stop at real-time ECU programming and decided to start expanding our narrow specialization in the field of devices for tuning ICE control systems, and the next product was ExTuner - a system for measuring and monitoring the parameters of the air-fuel mixture (A / F Ratio) and temperature exhaust gases (EGT), as well as additional functions, such as connecting most of the sensors to monitor additional parameters (for example, boost pressure, coolant temperature, oil, etc.); signal emulation of a narrow-band oxygen sensor (0-1V); support Innovate serial protocol (LC-1 / LM-1,2) for the ability to output AFR readings to any software that supports this protocol and others.

Background. What attention was paid to when creating

It took more than a year to develop this device, when the release dates were outlined in half a year after writing the first line of code. Why? The fact is that most of the time was spent on creating a competent controller for a wideband oxygen sensor (hereinafter AFR), namely, great attention was paid to the accuracy of readings and reliability. The fact is that initially the accuracy of the AFR controller system was based on the use of the internal calibration resistance of the sensor, the resistance of which is selected during production, depending on the individual characteristics of the sensor, and during operation, the controller automatically takes into account this resistance to correct the readings. This approach is the simplest, but with its own nuances, which we will discuss below.

Bosch LSU sensor calibration resistor (source wbo2.com)

AFR controller of the device

During operation, the sensor "grows old" and when used as a reference of the calibration resistance, the readings begin to differ from the true ones, due to irreversible processes in the sensor's sensitive element, which can also be caused by the "poisoning" of the sensor with a too rich ratio. Also, we have not achieved accurate and adequate readings of even new sensors manufactured by Bosch, it seems that recently the manufacturer began to save on the process of selecting the exact parameters of the calibration resistance of each sensor during production.
We used as a reference Innovate LM-2 famous American company which has patented AFR controller algorithms.
About a dozen sensors have been tested Bosch LSU 4.2 and 4.9, both new and used, which were installed in the same exhaust pipe environment in test vehicles. The first problem we encountered was a significant deviation of readings from LM-2, and the nature of the deviation was significantly different on different sensors, even within the same version (4.2 or 4.9), so it would be impossible to simply "fit" the values by some universal coefficient, which could be acceptable for marketing reasons.
We sought not just readings that would be acceptable at the level of budgetary "display meters", but readings that look almost indistinguishable against the background of a well-known brand. But this was achieved only when we implemented our own calibration algorithm using air as a reference.
Having done research and numerous tests, we can confidently answer for the readings of our device!

free air calibration
Calibration result
extuner calibration
Air oxygen reading after calibration process

This, as well as testing, took a significant part of the development time of the entire project.

Diagnostic system. More than just a "show meter"

The second step in the development approach was the implementation of a system for diagnosing the state of the oxygen sensor and the main systems of the device. The widebandband oxygen sensor is not very simple in structure, which is an electrochemical system consisting of a narrow-band Nernst cell; oxygen ion Pump and heating element. At the same time, it should be noted that the failure of the sensor is not always obvious - the AFR sensor can continue to work with a significant change in the properties of its structure, which may affect the readings! We talked about one of the reasons for such phenomena above. Overheating and mechanical shock can also deteriorate the sensor performance.
For these reasons, it was decided to introduce a diagnostic system for the oxygen sensor and not only, which constantly monitors the sensor parameters, and if they are deviated, the device warns about this in the form of separate codes on the display, each of which has a description and solution methods.

Устройство ШДК
Bosch sensor device

Exhaust gas temperature monitoring

Every seasoned tuner knows that controlling the temperature of the exhaust gases during tuning is more important than it might seem at first glance.
Measuring the temperature of the exhaust gases is more trivial. For this we use a ready-made company controller Maxim Integrated  for K-type thermocouples with cold junction compensation. The temperature range is quite sufficient for most solutions - from 0 to 1024 ° C, with an error of + -2 degrees.

EGT контроллер
egt meter

Emulation of Innovate Serial Protocol

In order to "make friends" the device with various third-party tuning programs, we decided to use an open Innovate serial protocolwhich is available in almost any modern program that uses AFR readings. Of course, you can blame us for this, and say that we just "stole" the work of others, but on the other hand, we have our own protocol for working with our own software ExTuner Utility, which is also available to third-party developers, but so that other developers can use or add to existing programs, it will take years.
A common USB interface is used to connect to a PC.

ExTuner Utility

As for the CobraRTP emulators, we have developed a separate utility. At the time of this writing, ExTuner Utility allows you to:

  • Display parameters to virtual devices in real time
  • Logging parameters and save in CSV format for further analysis
  • Updating device firmware
  • Configuring the analog input (AUX) for your own needs
  • Setting the analogue AUX outputs
  • Check for updates on the server online
  • there are 2 interface languages: Russian and English

To connect, you need to connect the device via USB and in the program. 

extuner software
Main
extuner
Settings of Analog input

Not enough AFR + EGT? There is an output: AUX

As an additional option, the device has a general purpose analog input (0-5V), with which you can connect various sensors to display readings on the display in the form of a physical quantity and more.
Most sensors with an output signal in the range of 0 ... 5V are suitable for connection. But how to make the voltage signal converted into human-readable values? The answer is simple, for this you need to know 2 operating points for the system to build a linear function. These parameters are set in the ExTuner Utility graphical interface:

extuner
Settings of Analog input
Показания с ДАД (MAP)

Thus, the device already has 3 independent measured values, which can be very useful, rather than using a separate device for this.

Analog outputs (AUX)

If, for example, you need to use ExTuner as an SDK controller, which must be connected to the analog inputs of the ECU to obtain the composition of the "mixture", then for this we have provided analog outputs to which the AFR and EGT readings (0-5V) are displayed.
With LSU 4.9, the range is 7.7: 1 to 20.0: 1.

Leave a comment



en_GBEnglish (UK)

AFR + EGT meter. ШДК (ШПЛЗ) контроллер

ExTuner: ШДК контроллер + EGT. Тюнинг по выхлопным газам

Мы не остановились на программировании ЭБУ в режиме реального времени и решили  начать расширять свою узкую специализацию в области устройств для тюнинга систем управления ДВС, и следующим продутом стал ExTuner – система измерения и мониторинга параметров состава воздушно-топливной смеси (A/F Ratio) и температуры выхлопных газов (EGT), а также дополнительные функции, такие подключение большинства датчиков для мониторинга дополнительных параметров (например давления наддува, температуры ОЖ, масла и т. д.); эмуляция сигнала узкополосного датчика кислорода (0-1В); поддержка последовательного протокола Innovate (LC-1/LM-1,2) для возможности вывода показаний AFR в любое ПО, которое поддерживает данный протокол и другое.

Предыстория. На что было уделено внимание при создании

На разработку данного девайса ушло более года, когда сроки релиза были намечены уже через пол года после написания первой строки кода. Почему? Дело в том, что большая часть времени ушло на создание грамотного контроллера широкополосного датчика кислорода (далее ШДК), а именно было уделено большое внимание точности показаний и надежности. Дело в том, что изначально точность системы контроллера ШДК базировалась на основе использования внутреннего калибровочного сопротивления датчика, сопротивление которого подбирается при производстве, зависящее от индивидуальных особенностей датчика, и при работе, контроллер автоматически учитывает данное сопротивление для корректировки показаний. Данный подход является самым простым, но со своими нюансами, о которых мы расскажем далее.

Калибровочный резистор датчика Bosch LSU (источник wbo2.com)

ШДК контроллер устройства

В процессе эксплуатации датчик “стареет” и при использовании в качестве эталона калибровочного сопротивления, показания начинают отличаться от истинных, в силу необратимых процессов в чувствительном элементе датчика, которые также могут быть вызваны “отравлением” датчика слишком богатой смесью. Также, мы не добились точных и адекватных показаний даже новых датчиков, производства Bosch, похоже в последнее время производитель начал экономить на процессе подбора точных параметров калибровочного сопротивления каждого датчика при производстве.
В качестве эталона мы использовали Innovate LM-2 известной американской компании, который имеет запатентованные алгоритмы контроллера AFR.
Было  протестировано около десятка датчиков Bosch LSU 4.2 и 4.9, как новых так и с пробегом, которые были установлены в одной среде выхлопной трубы тестового автомобилях. Первой проблемой с которой мы столкнулись – значительное отклонение показаний от LM-2, причем характер отклонения значительно отличался на разных датчиках, даже в рамках одной версии (4.2 либо 4.9), поэтому просто “подогнать” значения каким-то универсальным коэффициентом было бы невозможно, что могло быть приемлемо из маркетинговых соображений.
Мы добивались не просто показаний, которые были бы приемлемы на уровне бюджетных “показометров”, а показаний, которые выглядят на фоне известного бренда практически неотличимыми.  Но этого удалось добиться только тогда, когда мы реализовали собственный алгоритм калибровки, используя в качестве эталона воздух.
Проделав исследования и многочисленные тесты, мы можем с уверенностью ответить за показания нашего устройства!

free air calibration
Результат калибровки
extuner calibration
Показания кислорода на открытом воздухе после процесса калибровки

На это, а также тестирование ушла значительная часть времени разработки всего проекта.

Система диагностики. Не просто “показометр”

Вторым шагом в подходе к разработке, была реализована система диагностики состояния датчика кислорода и основных систем устройства. Широкополосный датчик кислорода весьма не простой по структуре, представляющий собой электрохимическую систему состоящую из узкополосной ячейки Nernst; ионного насоса кислорода (pump) и нагревательного элемента. При этом, стоит отметить, что выход датчика из строя не всегда очевиден – ШДК может продолжать работать при значительном изменении в свойствах его структуры, что может повлиять на показания! Об одной из причин таких явлений мы рассказывали выше. Также ухудшением работы датчика могут послужить перегревы и механические удары.
По этим соображениям было принято решение о внедрении системы диагностики датчика кислорода и не только, которая постоянно отслеживает параметры датчика, и при их отклонении устройство предупреждает об этом в виде отдельных кодов на дисплее, каждому из которых соответствует описание и методы решения.

Устройство ШДК
Устройство ШДК Bosch

Контроль температуры выхлопных газов

Каждому опытному тюнеру известно, что контролировать температуру выхлопных газов во время настройки является более важной задачей, чем это может показаться на первый взгляд.
Измерение температуры выхлопных газов более тривиальная задача. Для этого мы используем готовый контроллер компании Maxim Integrated  для термопар К-типа с компенсацией температуры “холодного спая”. Диапазон температур вполне достаточный для большинства решений – от 0 до 1024 °C, с погрешностью +-2 градуса.

EGT контроллер
egt meter

Эмуляция Innovate Serial Protocol

Для того, чтобы “подружить” устройство с различными сторонними программами для тюнинга, мы решили использовать открытый последовательный протокол Innovate, который доступен практически в любой современной программе, которая использует показания AFR.  Конечно, вы можете осудить нас за это, и сказать что мы просто “украли” наработки у других, но с другой стороны мы имеем и свой протокол для работы с собственным софтом ExTuner Utility, который также доступен сторонним разработчикам, но чтобы другие разработчики могли его использовать или добавить к существующим программам, на это уйдут годы.
Для подключения к ПК используется обычный USB интерфейс.

ExTuner Utility

Как и для эмуляторов CobraRTP мы разработали отдельную утилиту.  На момент написания статьи ExTuner Utility позволяет:

  • Выводить параметры на виртуальные приборы в реальном времени
  • Записывать параметры и сохранять в формате CSV для дальнейшего анализа
  • Обновление прошивки устройства
  • Настройка аналогового входа (AUX) для собственных нужд
  • Настройка аналоговых выходов AUX
  • Проверять обновления на сервере в режиме онлайн
  • имеется 2 языка интерфейса: Русский и Английский

Для подключения необходимо подключить устройство по USB и в программе. 

extuner software
Главный экран
extuner
Настройка показаний конверсии

Недостаточно AFR + EGT? Есть выход: AUX

Как дополнительная опция, устройство имеет аналоговый вход общего назначения (0-5В), с помощью которого можно подключать различные датчики для вывода показаний на дисплей в виде физической величины и не только.
Для подключения подходят большинство датчиков  с выходным сигналом в диапазоне 0…5В. Но как сделать чтобы сигнал вольтажа конвертировался в понятные человеку значения? Ответ прост, для этого необходимо знать 2 рабочие точки, чтобы система построила линейную функцию. Данные параметры задаются в графическом интерфейсе ExTuner Utility:

extuner
Настройка показаний конверсии
Показания с ДАД (MAP)

Таким образом, девайс имеет уже 3 независимых измеряемых величин, что может весьма пригодиться, нежели использовать отдельный для этого прибор.

Аналоговые выходы (AUX)

Если к примеру вам необходимо использовать ExTuner как ШДК контроллер, который нужно подключить к аналоговым входам ЭБУ для получения состава “смеси”, то для этого мы предусмотрели аналоговые выходы, на которые выведены показания AFR и EGT (0-5В).
С использованием LSU 4.9 диапазон от 7.7:1 до 20.0:1.

Оставьте комментарий



ru_RURussian